Designed by distinguished architect Francois Correjolles, the house was finished in 1826 and is now considered a fine example of a raised center hall house. In the front, it features twin curved stone staircases leading to a Tuscan portico. Inside, visitors find a large parlor and ballroom, a rectangular dining room leading to a porch and many fine details. A rear gallery extends almost the entire width of the building. The Beauregard Chamber bedroom is furnished with original furnishings used by the General and his family.
The brick-walled garden, maintained by the Garden Study Club of New Orleans, features a lovely cast iron fountain and boxwood hedges. The garden’s design duplicates the original 1865 plans.
On view are Mrs. Keyes’ collections of more than 200 antique dolls and 87 veilleuses. Mrs. Keyes’ extensive collections of delicate fans and fascinating folk costumes are also on exhibit. A lovely gift shop on the premises offers a number of Mrs. Keyes’ books, in addition to books about New Orleans, local cookbooks and souvenir items.